Week 5!  Day 4.

This pose reminds me of “superman” if you ever did that in any fitness class?  I did.

This one I don’t mind but I haven’t noticed any progress one way or another.  It’s supposed to help a lot with opening up the chest and flexibility of the spine.  Pretend you’re flying… but you’re on a sweaty towel.

bikram-poses_FullLocust-300x300

  • Spine flexibility
  • Strength in abs, legs, arms (holding yourself up!) and butt.
  • Opens front organs (liver, spleen)

 

Also, it is said to activate the Muladhara Chakra.  I don’t know much about chakras, but I like the quote below.

“Everyone admires the leaves and flowers of a plant, but hardly anyone takes any notice of the roots that lie hidden in the darkness of the earth. But the roots form the basis of the vegetation. From the sustenance received from the roots the sprout gains the power to penetrate the dark soil, grow upwards towards the sun and produce flowers, fruit and seeds.”

 

Bikram?  It’s getting easier.  Some days.  It’s never easy but I am noticing improvements already.  Remember tree pose –> toe pose?  When I started I predicted that I’d be able to do toe pose.  I can do it now!  I’ve very wobbly but I can get in position and sometimes release my hands from the floor.  I can sometimes go back in camel pose (without feeling dizzy).  It’s only week 5 and lots of noticeable improvement.

