Me + Exercise.  I used to have an eating disorder that involved excessive exercise.  In graduate school I spent 3-4 hours between various exercise classes and the gym.  Since then, I have come a long way.  I cut out exercise from my life for quite awhile and then about a year and a half ago, I started cardio boxing/kickboxing.  It was a great place for me to get out my emotions and frustrations, especially at the time in my life.  I did that for about 6 months before moving from midwest to desert.

When I got here, I started doing Krav Maga.  If you haven’t heard of that, it is sort of a martial art.  It was developed by the Israeli army and really aimed to debilitate your enemy.  Of course, someone my size would prefer to escape rather than get in a fight, but especially as women, we never know when we might get into a situation….any way I will get more into Krav later.

I’ve been trying to help my fiance get motivated to get in shape.  He’s been in and out of a couple jobs since we moved here and finally landed one he likes and matches my work schedule as well.  Since we moved a year ago, he has been wanting to go to Bikram yoga.  We have been talking about it forever!  So finally, I realized we had 8 weeks before we really had any solid plans or place to be so we set out on 6/6 to start the 8 week Bikram yoga challenge (5x a week for 8 weeks).

I’ve never sweated so much in my life as when I go to this class!  There are 26 poses, each done twice.  I thought I’d start learning more about each so I can appreciate them more while I’m dripping with sweat and struggling to stretch as far as those who have been doing Bikram for awhile.

 

To come – poses 1 – 26….

